Fire Restrictions

Current Restrictions

Stage 1 Fire Restrictions

Timber Mesa in conjuction with the White Mountain Fire Coordinating Group (Navajo County, City of Show Low, Town of Pinetop-Lakeside, and Apache-Sitgreaves National Forest) will be going into Stage 1 Fire Restrictions starting Thursday, June 6th at 8:00 a.m. Please follow all restrictions and visit or call our office at (928) 537-5100 for more information.

Help keep our community and forest safe by abiding by the rules. It only takes one spark! Only YOU can prevent wildfires.

Restrictions Overview

In the State of Arizona there are three stages of fire restrictions that can be implemented during times of high fire danger: Stage I, Stage II, and closures. 

So what’s the difference? 

Stage I is the first phase of the restrictions. Under these lower-level restrictions, campfires are allowed, but they must be within a developed site. See below for more detailed stage level restriction information. 

If weather conditions worsen and fire danger increases, the agency will move into the next stage of restrictions.

Under Stage II, even stronger stipulations are put in place, including no more campfires.

And, if conditions continue to decline and extremely high fire danger becomes a threat to the public and our firefighters, closures will go into effect. Within a closure, no public access will be allowed on state-owned or Forest Service lands until the Department of Forestry and Fire Management or respective US Forest Service jurisdiction rescinds its decision. 

Restrictions typically stay in place until Arizona moves into its monsoon season. During that time, higher humidity levels and increased moisture move in and help decrease the fire activity across the state. 

While we never like to prohibit recreational activities, there is a time when it is necessary to protect our Arizona State lands, human life, property, and our natural resources. 

One spark is all it takes to cause a devastating wildfire. 

During “Red Flag Warning”, conditions, as posted by the National Weather Service, no open outdoor fires, campfires, charcoal fires, agricultural burning or outdoor smoking are permitted on either public or private property within the unincorporated area of the affected zone(s).